

## Visa waiver countries and territories

Passport holders of some countries and territories do not have to apply for a visa before they travel to NZ but must hold an NZeTA (New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority).

## **Visiting New Zealand**

If you plan to visit New Zealand for a short period, you must request an NZeTA before you travel if you:

- travel on a passport from a country on the list of visa waiver countries and territories, and
- are visiting for up to 3 months or, if you are a British citizen, up to 6 months.

## Coming to New Zealand for medical help

If you are from a visa waiver country or territory, and coming to New Zealand for a medical consultation or treatment, you must apply for a visa.

## List of visa waiver countries and territories

The following are visa waiver countries and territories

Andorra Macau — only if you have a Macau Special

Argentina Administrative Region passport

Austria Malaysia

Bahrain Malta Belgium Mauritius

Brazil Mexico Brunei Monaco

Netherlands Bulgaria

Canada Norway Chile Oman Croatia Poland

Cyprus Portugal — if you have the right to live permanently in

Czech Republic Portugal Denmark Qatar

Estonia — citizens only Romania Finland San Marino France Saudi Arabia

Seychelles Germany Greece Singapore

Hong Kong — residents with HKSAR or Slovak Republic

British National-Overseas passports only Spain Hungary Iceland Sweden Ireland Switzerland

Israel Taiwan — if you are a permanent resident

**United Arab Emirates** Italy

United Kingdom — if you have the right to reside Japan

Korea — South permanently in the United Kingdom

United States of America — including USA nationals Kuwait

Slovenia

Latvia — citizens only Uruguay Liechtenstein Vatican City

Lithuania — citizens only

Luxembourg

Updated: 02/11/2019